NVQ Accreditation: Who Accredits NVQs?

A National Vocational Qualification (NVQ) is a qualification that proves you can do a particular job to industry standards. But you might be wondering who actually legitimises these qualifications. Who provides NVQ accreditation? 

CST Training offers many NVQs, specifically those based in the construction industry. The qualifications are recognised across the United Kingdom, but which organisations accredit NVQs? The following article will break down NVQ accreditation, and all the organisations involved in legitimising the qualifications.

NVQ Accreditation: Which Organisations Accredit NVQs? 

There are four organisations that accredit National Vocational Qualifications. The first is the Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents (ROSPA). Second is the IATP (Independent Asbestos Training Providers), and third is the IIRSM (International Institute of Risk and Safety Management). Finally, the one other organisation that accredits NVQs is the CPD (Continuing Professional Development). 

Each of these organisations ensure that the courses provided by CST Training meet the required standards and regulations.

You’ll find a range of courses on the CST Training website, whether you’re looking for individual courses, bundles, or packages. Each course is fully online, and once you’ve made the payment you’ll have lifetime access. 

Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents (ROSPA)

ROSPA is the main body that accredits NVQs. They’re a registered charity in Britain, and have been involved in the prevention of accidents for nearly 100 years.

The charity was formed to tackle the tens of thousands of accidents in Britain that result in deaths every year. The average annual UK total for deaths caused by accidents is over 14,000, and millions more are injured. 

The goal of ROSPA is to promote safety and prevent accidents, both in the workplace and everywhere else. They achieve this goal via safety education, which includes NVQs and many other qualifications. 

The Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents has been involved in many campaigns in recent years. Some of these include the Young Drivers campaign, the Electric Gates campaign, and the Blind Cord Safety campaign. 

Independent Asbestos Training Providers (IATP)

The IATP and the UKATA (UK Asbestos Training Association) are at their core very similar. Both exist to spread and teach awareness of asbestos, and both are recognised universally.

There are a number of asbestos awareness organisations, but only IATP and UKATA are recognised by all major construction companies. 

IATP individually audits each online training provider for any relevant course that they offer. They also work in conjunction with the Health and Safety Executive (HSE). 

International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM)

The IIRSM is devoted to risk management, for the benefit of both employees and organisations.

They cover a wide range of risk disciplines, including compliance, health and safety, environmental management, internal audit, insurance, security, quality management, and project management. 

CPD (Continuing Professional Development) Certification Service 

Established in 1996, CPD Certification Service is the leading independent institution in CPD accreditation. They provide advice, support, and accreditation to training providers all across the world.

Many organisations are accredited by the CPD Certification Service. The National Autistic Society, the British Heart Foundation, the Intellectual Property Office, and NHS England, for instance. 


We Are The Leading Provider Of Construction NVQs In The UK

Low Angle Photography of Orange Excavator Under White Clouds

We Deliver Our NVQs As Quickly And Efficiently As Possible

nvq accreditation

Our E-Portfolio System Provides An Easier Way To Complete Your NVQ Remotely 

Brown and Black Concrete Building Near Gray Concrete Bridge Under Blue Sky